# AWS Data Exchange vs Databricks Marketplace: how their terms compare

URL: https://sellmydatatoai.net/compare/aws-data-exchange-vs-databricks-marketplace
Updated: 2026-11-08

AWS Data Exchange suits data providers selling files, tables or APIs by subscription to AWS customers, and Databricks Marketplace suits providers sharing datasets, notebooks or models with Databricks customers on terms they set. AWS Data Exchange collects subscription payments and pays providers monthly. Databricks Marketplace leaves paid terms and billing to the provider and the consumer.

## Key takeaways

- AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace are both data marketplaces.
- Published payout at AWS Data Exchange: Provider sets the price.
- Published payout at Databricks Marketplace: Provider sets terms.
- AWS Data Exchange publishes 5 of the 6 terms compared here, and Databricks Marketplace publishes 3.
- Facts were checked on each company's own pages in November 2026.

## How do AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace compare?

"Not published" means the company's own pages do not say.

| Term | AWS Data Exchange | Databricks Marketplace |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Type | Data marketplace | Data marketplace |
| What it buys | Lists third-party data files, data tables and data APIs sold by subscription | Does not buy data. Lists datasets, Databricks notebooks, AI models and MCP servers |
| Published payout | Provider sets the price | Provider sets terms. Paid access is agreed with each consumer outside the Marketplace |
| Size requirement | Must register as an AWS Marketplace seller. Paid products need residency or incorporation in an eligible jurisdiction, including the UK, EU and US | Approval through the Databricks Data Partner Program, a Premium plan or above and a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace |
| Exclusivity | Not published | Not published |
| Fee to seller | AWS Marketplace service fees deducted. Rate not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated in the provider documentation we checked |
| Payment timing | Monthly on a rolling schedule, only after funds are collected from the subscriber | Not published. Billing sits in the provider's own agreement with the consumer |
| Facts checked | November 2026 | November 2026 |

## Who are AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace?

### AWS Data Exchange

AWS Data Exchange is Amazon Web Services' catalog for subscribing to third-party data files, tables and APIs, listing more than 3,500 datasets from more than 300 providers. Providers must first register as AWS Marketplace sellers. AWS pays providers monthly, after collecting from subscribers, minus AWS Marketplace service fees.

Profile: https://sellmydatatoai.net/data-buyers/aws-data-exchange

### Databricks Marketplace

Databricks Marketplace is an open exchange where data providers publish datasets, notebooks, AI models and MCP servers to Databricks customers. Public providers apply through the Databricks Data Partner Program. Listings are either free and instant or need provider approval, and for paid data the provider manages the business agreement outside the Marketplace. Databricks states no provider fee.

Profile: https://sellmydatatoai.net/data-buyers/databricks-marketplace

## Which fits you, AWS Data Exchange or Databricks Marketplace?

The right fit depends on your records and the terms you need. We do not rank either company.

### AWS Data Exchange may suit you if

- you want to sell data files, tables or APIs by subscription
- you can register as an AWS Marketplace seller in an eligible jurisdiction, such as the US, UK or EU
- you accept monthly payment after AWS collects from the subscriber, minus service fees

### Databricks Marketplace may suit you if

- your buyers already use Databricks
- you want to agree paid access and billing with each consumer outside the Marketplace
- you can join the Databricks Data Partner Program and run a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace

### Terms to ask about

AWS Data Exchange does not publish its exclusivity terms. Databricks Marketplace does not publish its exclusivity terms, fee to seller or payment timing. Ask each company for these terms in writing before you share a sample.

## Frequently asked questions

### What do AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace pay for data?

AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace publish different payout information. AWS Data Exchange: Provider sets the price. Databricks Marketplace: Provider sets terms. Paid access is agreed with each consumer outside the Marketplace. Published figures are ceilings or estimates, not offers, so ask each company for a written figure based on your own records.

### What size of company do AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace look for?

AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace set out their size requirements differently. AWS Data Exchange: Must register as an AWS Marketplace seller. Paid products need residency or incorporation in an eligible jurisdiction, including the UK, EU and US. Databricks Marketplace: Approval through the Databricks Data Partner Program, a Premium plan or above and a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace. Confirm fit with each company before you prepare a sample.

### Do AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace charge sellers a fee or require exclusivity?

AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace publish these terms as follows. AWS Data Exchange fee to seller: AWS Marketplace service fees deducted. Rate not stated on the pages we checked. AWS Data Exchange exclusivity: Not published. Databricks Marketplace fee to seller: Not stated in the provider documentation we checked. Databricks Marketplace exclusivity: Not published. Ask for both terms in writing before you sign.

### When do AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace pay sellers?

AWS Data Exchange and Databricks Marketplace publish different payment timing. AWS Data Exchange: Monthly on a rolling schedule, only after funds are collected from the subscriber. Databricks Marketplace: Not published. Billing sits in the provider's own agreement with the consumer. Write the payment date into the license, with a clear trigger such as signing, delivery or acceptance of the data.

## Sources

- [AWS Data Exchange](https://aws.amazon.com/data-exchange/), Amazon Web Services, accessed November 2026
- [Provider financials](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/data-exchange/latest/userguide/provider-financials.html), Amazon Web Services, accessed November 2026
- [Seller eligibility requirements](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/marketplace/latest/userguide/seller-eligibility.html), Amazon Web Services, accessed November 2026
- [What is Databricks Marketplace?](https://docs.databricks.com/aws/en/marketplace/), Databricks, accessed November 2026
- [Get started as a provider](https://docs.databricks.com/aws/en/marketplace/get-started-provider), Databricks, accessed November 2026
- [Create and manage listings](https://docs.databricks.com/aws/en/marketplace/create-listing), Databricks, accessed November 2026

---

Book a free consultation: https://sellmydatatoai.net/book-a-consultation