# Snowflake Marketplace vs Databricks Marketplace: how their terms compare

URL: https://sellmydatatoai.net/compare/snowflake-marketplace-vs-databricks-marketplace
Updated: 2026-11-08

Snowflake Marketplace suits providers selling data, apps or AI products to Snowflake customers, and Databricks Marketplace suits providers sharing datasets, notebooks or models with Databricks customers on terms they set. Snowflake Marketplace handles paid listings with Stripe payouts. On Databricks Marketplace, the provider agrees paid access with each consumer outside the Marketplace.

## Key takeaways

- Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace are both data marketplaces.
- Published payout at Snowflake Marketplace: Provider sets the price: usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment plans.
- Published payout at Databricks Marketplace: Provider sets terms.
- Snowflake Marketplace publishes 4 of the 6 terms compared here, and Databricks Marketplace publishes 3.
- Facts were checked on each company's own pages in November 2026.

## How do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace compare?

"Not published" means the company's own pages do not say.

| Term | Snowflake Marketplace | Databricks Marketplace |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Type | Data marketplace | Data marketplace |
| What it buys | Does not buy data. Lists third-party data, apps and agents, plus licensed publisher content through Cortex Knowledge Extensions | Does not buy data. Lists datasets, Databricks notebooks, AI models and MCP servers |
| Published payout | Provider sets the price: usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment plans | Provider sets terms. Paid access is agreed with each consumer outside the Marketplace |
| Size requirement | Full Snowflake account, approved provider profile and, for paid listings, a billing address in one of 20 eligible countries | Approval through the Databricks Data Partner Program, a Premium plan or above and a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace |
| Exclusivity | Not published | Not published |
| Fee to seller | Not stated in the provider documentation we checked. The Stripe payout account costs nothing extra | Not stated in the provider documentation we checked |
| Payment timing | Stripe pays providers after receiving payment from consumers. Snowflake pays when consumers use a capacity commitment | Not published. Billing sits in the provider's own agreement with the consumer |
| Facts checked | November 2026 | November 2026 |

## Who are Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace?

### Snowflake Marketplace

Snowflake Marketplace lets providers list data, apps and AI products to Snowflake customers, citing more than 820 providers and more than 3,400 live offerings. Paid listings need an approved provider profile and a billing address in one of 20 countries including the UK and US, and Stripe pays providers after consumers pay. Snowflake's documentation states no provider commission.

Profile: https://sellmydatatoai.net/data-buyers/snowflake-marketplace

### Databricks Marketplace

Databricks Marketplace is an open exchange where data providers publish datasets, notebooks, AI models and MCP servers to Databricks customers. Public providers apply through the Databricks Data Partner Program. Listings are either free and instant or need provider approval, and for paid data the provider manages the business agreement outside the Marketplace. Databricks states no provider fee.

Profile: https://sellmydatatoai.net/data-buyers/databricks-marketplace

## Which fits you, Snowflake Marketplace or Databricks Marketplace?

The right fit depends on your records and the terms you need. We do not rank either company.

### Snowflake Marketplace may suit you if

- your buyers already use Snowflake
- you want usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment pricing
- you have a billing address in one of the 20 countries eligible for paid listings

### Databricks Marketplace may suit you if

- your buyers already use Databricks
- you want to agree paid access and billing with each consumer outside the Marketplace
- you can join the Databricks Data Partner Program and run a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace

### Terms to ask about

Snowflake Marketplace does not publish its exclusivity terms or fee to seller. Databricks Marketplace does not publish its exclusivity terms, fee to seller or payment timing. Ask each company for these terms in writing before you share a sample.

## Frequently asked questions

### What do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace pay for data?

Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace publish different payout information. Snowflake Marketplace: Provider sets the price: usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment plans. Databricks Marketplace: Provider sets terms. Paid access is agreed with each consumer outside the Marketplace. Published figures are ceilings or estimates, not offers, so ask each company for a written figure based on your own records.

### What size of company do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace look for?

Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace set out their size requirements differently. Snowflake Marketplace: Full Snowflake account, approved provider profile and, for paid listings, a billing address in one of 20 eligible countries. Databricks Marketplace: Approval through the Databricks Data Partner Program, a Premium plan or above and a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace. Confirm fit with each company before you prepare a sample.

### Do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace charge sellers a fee or require exclusivity?

Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace publish these terms as follows. Snowflake Marketplace fee to seller: Not stated in the provider documentation we checked. The Stripe payout account costs nothing extra. Snowflake Marketplace exclusivity: Not published. Databricks Marketplace fee to seller: Not stated in the provider documentation we checked. Databricks Marketplace exclusivity: Not published. Ask for both terms in writing before you sign.

### When do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace pay sellers?

Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace publish different payment timing. Snowflake Marketplace: Stripe pays providers after receiving payment from consumers. Snowflake pays when consumers use a capacity commitment. Databricks Marketplace: Not published. Billing sits in the provider's own agreement with the consumer. Write the payment date into the license, with a clear trigger such as signing, delivery or acceptance of the data.

## Sources

- [Snowflake Marketplace](https://www.snowflake.com/en/data-cloud/marketplace/), Snowflake, accessed November 2026
- [Use listings as a provider](https://docs.snowflake.com/en/collaboration/provider-becoming), Snowflake, accessed November 2026
- [Paid listings pricing models](https://docs.snowflake.com/collaboration/provider-listings-pricing-model), Snowflake, accessed November 2026
- [Snowflake Marketplace adds agentic products and AI-ready data from leading news, research, and market data providers](https://www.snowflake.com/en/news/press-releases/snowflake-marketplace-adds-agentic-products-and-ai-ready-data-from-leading-news-research-and-market-data-providers), Snowflake, accessed November 2026
- [What is Databricks Marketplace?](https://docs.databricks.com/aws/en/marketplace/), Databricks, accessed November 2026
- [Get started as a provider](https://docs.databricks.com/aws/en/marketplace/get-started-provider), Databricks, accessed November 2026
- [Create and manage listings](https://docs.databricks.com/aws/en/marketplace/create-listing), Databricks, accessed November 2026

---

Book a free consultation: https://sellmydatatoai.net/book-a-consultation