Buying data
How big is the AI training data market?
By Gareth HoyleLast updated 7 minute readHow we research
In short
Published estimates put the AI training dataset market at $3.2 billion to $8.74 billion for 2025, depending on the research firm: Grand View Research estimates $3.2 billion and Mordor Intelligence $8.74 billion. Forecasts run from $9.58 billion by 2029 to $49.82 billion by 2031. The figures differ because firms define the market, base year and method differently.
Key takeaways
- 2025 estimates range from $3.2 billion (Grand View Research, June 2026) to $8.74 billion (Mordor Intelligence, May 2026).
- Forecasts diverge more: $16.3 billion by 2033 from Grand View Research against $49.82 billion by 2031 from Mordor Intelligence.
- Firms segment the market differently, by data type, offering, deployment and buyer industry, and their public summaries do not list the deals they count.
- Filings give harder numbers: Reddit's 2024 S-1 reports data licensing arrangements with an aggregate contract value of $203.0 million.
- Of the 21 deals in our tracker, 11 have undisclosed values, so any total built from deals understates the market.
Market size figures for AI training data appear in pitch decks, press releases and news stories, often without the firm or year that produced them. They are estimates from commercial research firms, and they disagree by a factor of nearly three for the same year.
This guide compares the published estimates, explains why they differ and sets them beside harder numbers from US company filings and the reported deal values in our AI data deals tracker.
How big is the AI training data market?
The AI training data market was worth between $3.2 billion and $8.74 billion in 2025, according to the research firms that publish estimates. Each figure below is the firm's own estimate, taken from its report page or press release in November 2026.
| Research firm | Published | Base estimate | Forecast | Growth rate stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand View Research | June 2026 | $3.2 billion in 2025, $3.9 billion in 2026 | $16.3 billion by 2033 | 22.6% a year, 2026 to 2033 |
| Precedence Research | Updated September 21, 2026 | $3.35 billion in 2025, $3.92 billion in 2026 | $14.94 billion by 2035 | 16.13% a year, 2026 to 2035 |
| Global Market Insights | May 2025 | $3.2 billion in 2024 | $16.3 billion by 2034 | 20.5% a year, 2025 to 2034 |
| MarketsandMarkets | November 26, 2024 | $2.82 billion in 2024 | $9.58 billion by 2029 | 27.7% a year |
| Mordor Intelligence | Updated May 26, 2026 | $8.74 billion in 2025, $11.91 billion in 2026 | $49.82 billion by 2031 | 33.14% a year, 2026 to 2031 |
| Meticulous Research | December 1, 2022 | Not stated in the release | $9.35 billion by 2029 | 24.7% a year, 2022 to 2029 |
Why do AI training data market estimates differ?
AI training data market estimates differ because each firm draws the market boundary in a different place, starts from a different base year and uses its own unpublished model. Small differences in definition become large differences in a forecast compounded over six to nine years.
| Firm | Segments named | Example share it reports |
|---|---|---|
| Grand View Research | Type (text, image or video, audio) and vertical | Image and video held 41.9% of revenue in 2025 |
| Mordor Intelligence | Data modality, dataset offering (off-the-shelf or custom creation), deployment and end-user industry | Off-the-shelf datasets held 46.84% in 2025 |
| Global Market Insights | Data modality and deployment mode | Cloud held 73% in 2024, and the US generated about $1.23 billion |
| MarketsandMarkets | Offering, dataset creation, data modality and others | Its release says dataset creation software is expected to lead the dataset creation segment |
Mordor Intelligence's definition includes custom dataset creation, which it projects as the fastest-growing offering at 33.74% a year through 2031. A firm that counts the services work of building datasets will report a larger market than one that counts dataset products alone.
Method matters too. Grand View Research says its findings rest on proprietary technology databases, executive interviews and regulatory analysis, with internal peer review. None of the public summaries we read lists the company revenues or licensing deals included, so you cannot reconcile one firm's number with another's.
What do US company filings show about data licensing revenue?
US company filings give audited or sworn figures for individual sellers, which are narrower than market estimates but more reliable. Two filings stand out.
| Company | Document | Figure as stated |
|---|---|---|
| Form S-1, filed February 2024 | Data licensing arrangements entered in January 2024 with an aggregate contract value of $203.0 million and terms of two to three years, with at least $66.4 million expected as revenue in 2024 | |
| Shutterstock | Form 10-K for 2023 | Data, Distribution, and Services revenue up 256% to $137.3 million in 2023, with its data offering accounting for $84.9 million of the growth |
| Scale AI | Press release, June 12, 2025 | A significant new investment from Meta that values Scale at over $29 billion |
Reddit's S-1 also describes how the money is earned: customers receive the right to access data over the contract period, the price is generally a fixed fee or usage-based fee and revenue is recognized over the license period. It warns that substantially all of the contract value came from one partner at the time of filing.
Shutterstock's 10-K figure includes Giphy and Shutterstock Studios as well as data licensing, so it is not a pure AI data number. Scale AI's valuation reflects what investors pay for a training-data company, not the size of the market it serves.
What do reported AI data deals show?
Reported AI data deals show a market with a few very large publisher and platform licenses and a long tail of small company sales. The table lists every deal in our tracker with a reported value, exactly as the cited source reported it.
| Date | Licensor | Licensee | Value as reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| October 2026 | A shut-down crypto startup (founder Keelan Miskell) | Not named (sale brokered by SimpleClosure) | About $25,000 for the codebase, with about $15,000 likely for workspace data (reported) |
| August 2026 | Spirit Airlines (in bankruptcy) | $10 million winning auction bid (reported) | |
| May 2025 | The New York Times | Amazon | $20 million to $25 million a year (reported by The Wall Street Journal) |
| November 2024 | HarperCollins | Microsoft (reported by Bloomberg, not confirmed by HarperCollins) | $5,000 per title, split equally between author and publisher (reported) |
| November 2024 | Dotdash Meredith | OpenAI | At least $16 million a year (reported) |
| August 2024 | Wiley | Undisclosed technology companies | $44 million expected from AI rights deals (reported) |
| May 2024 | News Corp | OpenAI | About $250 million over five years in cash and credits (reported by The Wall Street Journal) |
| May 2024 | Informa (Taylor and Francis) | Microsoft | Initial data access fee of about $10 million, plus recurring payments over three years (reported) |
| February 2024 | About $60 million a year (reported by Reuters, citing one source) | ||
| December 2023 | Axel Springer | OpenAI | Tens of millions of euros (reported by Bloomberg) |
The largest reported value is News Corp's license to OpenAI, at about $250 million over five years in cash and credits according to The Wall Street Journal. At the other end, MIT Technology Review reported about $25,000 for the codebase of a shut-down crypto startup in October 2026.
Many deals never publish a price. Of the 21 deals in our tracker, 11 are listed as undisclosed, including OpenAI's licenses with the Financial Times, Condé Nast and Stack Overflow. Adding up reported values would understate the market, so we do not publish a total.
Do market estimates include payments to data owners?
It is not clear whether published market estimates include licensing payments to data owners such as publishers, platforms and companies. The firms' public summaries do not say which payments they count.
Mordor Intelligence's report cites the New York Times licensing agreement with Amazon in May 2025 as an example of rights-cleared content in the custom dataset segment, which suggests it considers such licenses part of the picture. Whether their value is in the $8.74 billion figure is not stated. If your question is what AI companies pay data owners, filings and deal reports answer it better than market sizing does.
Which market size figure should you use?
Use the range rather than one firm's number, and name each source with its year. For a single figure, pick the firm whose definition matches your question, such as Mordor Intelligence if you include custom dataset creation services.
- For a pitch or report: quote the range of 2025 estimates, $3.2 billion to $8.74 billion, with both firms named
- For a forecast: show at least two forecasts with their horizons, since 2029, 2031, 2033 and 2035 are not comparable
- For pricing a deal: ignore market size and use published price ranges and comparable deals
- For a seller's valuation: use buyer offers and deal values in your data type, not a share of the market
For prices, our AI data price index compiles published payout ranges and reported deal values in one table, and our guide to AI training data pricing models explains how deals are structured.
What does market growth mean for AI data buyers?
Market growth means more competition for scarce, rights-cleared data, especially proprietary company records and expert work. In the 2026 auction for bankrupt Spirit Airlines' de-identified business data, Google's reported $10 million bid won, micro1 filed a competing bid and Mercor was named as alternate bidder. Court approval was pending at the time of reporting.
For buyers, that argues for starting procurement early and paying attention to exclusivity. Our guide to running an AI training data procurement sets out the process, and our guide to synthetic vs licensed training data covers when real data is worth the cost.
How does Sell My Data To AI fit into this market?
Sell My Data To AI is an independent broker between data owners and AI teams. We do not own an AI model and we do not buy data for our own use. Buyers pay nothing to submit a requirement or review a shortlist, and sellers pay nothing to be assessed. To source data, submit a data requirement. To license your own records, start with a data valuation.
Frequently asked questions
What is the AI training dataset market worth in 2026?
How fast is the AI training data market growing?
How much has Reddit earned from licensing data to AI companies?
What is the biggest reported AI data licensing deal?
Why do market research firms disagree about AI data?
Sources
- AI training dataset market size and share report, 2026 to 2033, Grand View Research, accessed November 2026
- AI training dataset market companies, size and trends 2026 to 2035, Precedence Research, accessed November 2026
- AI training dataset market size and share, forecasts report 2034, Global Market Insights, accessed November 2026
- The rise of AI training dataset market: a $9.58 billion industry (MarketsandMarkets), MarketsandMarkets via GlobeNewswire, accessed November 2026
- AI training dataset market size, share and 2031 growth trends report, Mordor Intelligence, accessed November 2026
- AI training dataset market worth $9.35 billion by 2029, Meticulous Research, accessed November 2026
- Reddit, Inc. Form S-1 registration statement, US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), accessed November 2026
- Shutterstock, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year 2023, US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), accessed November 2026
- Scale AI announces next phase of company's evolution, Scale AI press release via Seeking Alpha, accessed November 2026
- MIT Technology Review, October 2026, MIT Technology Review, accessed November 2026
- The Next Web, October 2026, The Next Web, accessed November 2026
- Engadget, citing The Wall Street Journal, July 2025, Engadget, citing The Wall Street Journal, accessed November 2026
- Publishers Weekly, November 2024, Publishers Weekly, accessed November 2026
- Engadget, citing Adweek, November 2024, Engadget, citing Adweek, accessed November 2026
- The Bookseller, August 2024, The Bookseller, accessed November 2026
- Engadget, citing The Wall Street Journal, May 2024, Engadget, citing The Wall Street Journal, accessed November 2026
- interactive investor, May 2024, interactive investor, accessed November 2026
- Reuters via Nieman Lab, February 2024, Reuters via Nieman Lab, accessed November 2026
- Bloomberg Law, December 2023, Bloomberg Law, accessed November 2026