Skip to content
Sell My Data To AI

Snowflake Marketplace vs Databricks Marketplace: how their terms compare

By Gareth HoyleLast updated How we research

In short

Snowflake Marketplace suits providers selling data, apps or AI products to Snowflake customers, and Databricks Marketplace suits providers sharing datasets, notebooks or models with Databricks customers on terms they set. Snowflake Marketplace handles paid listings with Stripe payouts. On Databricks Marketplace, the provider agrees paid access with each consumer outside the Marketplace.

Key takeaways

  • Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace are both data marketplaces.
  • Published payout at Snowflake Marketplace: Provider sets the price: usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment plans.
  • Published payout at Databricks Marketplace: Provider sets terms.
  • Snowflake Marketplace publishes 4 of the 6 terms compared here, and Databricks Marketplace publishes 3.
  • Facts were checked on each company's own pages in November 2026.

How do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace compare?

The table sets each company's published terms side by side, copied from our profiles. "Not published" means the company's own pages do not say.

TermSnowflake MarketplaceDatabricks Marketplace
TypeData marketplaceData marketplace
What it buysDoes not buy data. Lists third-party data, apps and agents, plus licensed publisher content through Cortex Knowledge ExtensionsDoes not buy data. Lists datasets, Databricks notebooks, AI models and MCP servers
Published payoutProvider sets the price: usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment plansProvider sets terms. Paid access is agreed with each consumer outside the Marketplace
Size requirementFull Snowflake account, approved provider profile and, for paid listings, a billing address in one of 20 eligible countriesApproval through the Databricks Data Partner Program, a Premium plan or above and a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace
ExclusivityNot publishedNot published
Fee to sellerNot stated in the provider documentation we checked. The Stripe payout account costs nothing extraNot stated in the provider documentation we checked
Payment timingStripe pays providers after receiving payment from consumers. Snowflake pays when consumers use a capacity commitmentNot published. Billing sits in the provider's own agreement with the consumer
Facts checkedNovember 2026November 2026

Published payouts are ceilings or estimates, not quotes.

Who are Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace?

Data marketplace

Snowflake Marketplace

Snowflake Marketplace lets providers list data, apps and AI products to Snowflake customers, citing more than 820 providers and more than 3,400 live offerings. Paid listings need an approved provider profile and a billing address in one of 20 countries including the UK and US, and Stripe pays providers after consumers pay. Snowflake's documentation states no provider commission.

Read our Snowflake Marketplace profile

Data marketplace

Databricks Marketplace

Databricks Marketplace is an open exchange where data providers publish datasets, notebooks, AI models and MCP servers to Databricks customers. Public providers apply through the Databricks Data Partner Program. Listings are either free and instant or need provider approval, and for paid data the provider manages the business agreement outside the Marketplace. Databricks states no provider fee.

Read our Databricks Marketplace profile

Which fits you, Snowflake Marketplace or Databricks Marketplace?

The right fit between Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace depends on your records and the terms you need. We do not rank either company, and each point below comes from its published facts.

Snowflake Marketplace may suit you if

  • your buyers already use Snowflake
  • you want usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment pricing
  • you have a billing address in one of the 20 countries eligible for paid listings

Databricks Marketplace may suit you if

  • your buyers already use Databricks
  • you want to agree paid access and billing with each consumer outside the Marketplace
  • you can join the Databricks Data Partner Program and run a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace

Terms to ask about

Snowflake Marketplace does not publish its exclusivity terms or fee to seller. Databricks Marketplace does not publish its exclusivity terms, fee to seller or payment timing. Ask each company for these terms in writing before you share a sample.

Comparing offers?

Published payouts are ceilings, not quotes. We can put your records in front of several vetted buyers and compare offers on the same terms. Get a free valuation.

Frequently asked questions

What do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace pay for data?
Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace publish different payout information. Snowflake Marketplace: Provider sets the price: usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment plans. Databricks Marketplace: Provider sets terms. Paid access is agreed with each consumer outside the Marketplace. Published figures are ceilings or estimates, not offers, so ask each company for a written figure based on your own records.
What size of company do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace look for?
Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace set out their size requirements differently. Snowflake Marketplace: Full Snowflake account, approved provider profile and, for paid listings, a billing address in one of 20 eligible countries. Databricks Marketplace: Approval through the Databricks Data Partner Program, a Premium plan or above and a Unity Catalog-enabled workspace. Confirm fit with each company before you prepare a sample.
Do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace charge sellers a fee or require exclusivity?
Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace publish these terms as follows. Snowflake Marketplace fee to seller: Not stated in the provider documentation we checked. The Stripe payout account costs nothing extra. Snowflake Marketplace exclusivity: Not published. Databricks Marketplace fee to seller: Not stated in the provider documentation we checked. Databricks Marketplace exclusivity: Not published. Ask for both terms in writing before you sign.
When do Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace pay sellers?
Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace publish different payment timing. Snowflake Marketplace: Stripe pays providers after receiving payment from consumers. Snowflake pays when consumers use a capacity commitment. Databricks Marketplace: Not published. Billing sits in the provider's own agreement with the consumer. Write the payment date into the license, with a clear trigger such as signing, delivery or acceptance of the data.

Related comparisons

Sources

  1. Snowflake Marketplace, Snowflake, accessed November 2026
  2. Use listings as a provider, Snowflake, accessed November 2026
  3. Paid listings pricing models, Snowflake, accessed November 2026
  4. Snowflake Marketplace adds agentic products and AI-ready data from leading news, research, and market data providers, Snowflake, accessed November 2026
  5. What is Databricks Marketplace?, Databricks, accessed November 2026
  6. Get started as a provider, Databricks, accessed November 2026
  7. Create and manage listings, Databricks, accessed November 2026

For data owners

Ready to see what buyers will offer?

Book a consultation and we will scope your data, explain our fee in writing and set out the steps to competing offers from vetted buyers.

Snowflake Marketplace and Databricks Marketplace are listed for reference. We are independent and this page is not an endorsement of either company. If anything here is out of date, email hello@sellmydatatoai.net and we will correct it.