AWS Data Exchange vs Snowflake Marketplace: how their terms compare
By Gareth HoyleLast updated How we research
In short
AWS Data Exchange suits data providers selling files, tables or APIs by subscription to AWS customers, and Snowflake Marketplace suits providers selling data, apps or AI products to Snowflake customers. AWS Data Exchange deducts AWS Marketplace service fees and pays monthly. Snowflake Marketplace pays through Stripe and states no provider commission in its documentation.
Key takeaways
- AWS Data Exchange and Snowflake Marketplace are both data marketplaces.
- Published payout at AWS Data Exchange: Provider sets the price.
- Published payout at Snowflake Marketplace: Provider sets the price: usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment plans.
- AWS Data Exchange publishes 5 of the 6 terms compared here, and Snowflake Marketplace publishes 4.
- Facts were checked on each company's own pages in November 2026.
How do AWS Data Exchange and Snowflake Marketplace compare?
The table sets each company's published terms side by side, copied from our profiles. "Not published" means the company's own pages do not say.
| Term | AWS Data Exchange | Snowflake Marketplace |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Data marketplace | Data marketplace |
| What it buys | Lists third-party data files, data tables and data APIs sold by subscription | Does not buy data. Lists third-party data, apps and agents, plus licensed publisher content through Cortex Knowledge Extensions |
| Published payout | Provider sets the price | Provider sets the price: usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment plans |
| Size requirement | Must register as an AWS Marketplace seller. Paid products need residency or incorporation in an eligible jurisdiction, including the UK, EU and US | Full Snowflake account, approved provider profile and, for paid listings, a billing address in one of 20 eligible countries |
| Exclusivity | Not published | Not published |
| Fee to seller | AWS Marketplace service fees deducted. Rate not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated in the provider documentation we checked. The Stripe payout account costs nothing extra |
| Payment timing | Monthly on a rolling schedule, only after funds are collected from the subscriber | Stripe pays providers after receiving payment from consumers. Snowflake pays when consumers use a capacity commitment |
| Facts checked | November 2026 | November 2026 |
Published payouts are ceilings or estimates, not quotes.
Who are AWS Data Exchange and Snowflake Marketplace?
Data marketplace
AWS Data Exchange
AWS Data Exchange is Amazon Web Services' catalog for subscribing to third-party data files, tables and APIs, listing more than 3,500 datasets from more than 300 providers. Providers must first register as AWS Marketplace sellers. AWS pays providers monthly, after collecting from subscribers, minus AWS Marketplace service fees.
Data marketplace
Snowflake Marketplace
Snowflake Marketplace lets providers list data, apps and AI products to Snowflake customers, citing more than 820 providers and more than 3,400 live offerings. Paid listings need an approved provider profile and a billing address in one of 20 countries including the UK and US, and Stripe pays providers after consumers pay. Snowflake's documentation states no provider commission.
Which fits you, AWS Data Exchange or Snowflake Marketplace?
The right fit between AWS Data Exchange and Snowflake Marketplace depends on your records and the terms you need. We do not rank either company, and each point below comes from its published facts.
AWS Data Exchange may suit you if
- you want to sell data files, tables or APIs by subscription
- you can register as an AWS Marketplace seller in an eligible jurisdiction, such as the US, UK or EU
- you accept monthly payment after AWS collects from the subscriber, minus service fees
Snowflake Marketplace may suit you if
- your buyers already use Snowflake
- you want usage-based, subscription (1 to 36 months) or installment pricing
- you have a billing address in one of the 20 countries eligible for paid listings
Terms to ask about
AWS Data Exchange does not publish its exclusivity terms. Snowflake Marketplace does not publish its exclusivity terms or fee to seller. Ask each company for these terms in writing before you share a sample.
Comparing offers?
Published payouts are ceilings, not quotes. We can put your records in front of several vetted buyers and compare offers on the same terms. Get a free valuation.
Frequently asked questions
What do AWS Data Exchange and Snowflake Marketplace pay for data?
What size of company do AWS Data Exchange and Snowflake Marketplace look for?
Do AWS Data Exchange and Snowflake Marketplace charge sellers a fee or require exclusivity?
When do AWS Data Exchange and Snowflake Marketplace pay sellers?
Related comparisons
Sources
- AWS Data Exchange, Amazon Web Services, accessed November 2026
- Provider financials, Amazon Web Services, accessed November 2026
- Seller eligibility requirements, Amazon Web Services, accessed November 2026
- Snowflake Marketplace, Snowflake, accessed November 2026
- Use listings as a provider, Snowflake, accessed November 2026
- Paid listings pricing models, Snowflake, accessed November 2026
- Snowflake Marketplace adds agentic products and AI-ready data from leading news, research, and market data providers, Snowflake, accessed November 2026