Best ways to sell retail and ecommerce data to AI companies
By Gareth HoyleLast updated How we research
In short
The best ways to sell retail and ecommerce data to AI companies are a vetted broker such as Sell My Data To AI, or a license with Mercor, Labelbox Prism, micro1 or Polyshares. Support conversations, product copy you wrote and returns reasons carry the value. Purchase histories are personal data, and in California a transfer for value counts as a sale under the CCPA.
Key takeaways
- Mercor is best for retailers on Gmail, Salesforce and support tools.
- Labelbox Prism is best for high-volume B2C retailers with support logs.
- micro1 is best for established retailers with support tickets and CRM records.
- Sell My Data To AI wrote this list and ranks itself first. The method section explains the criteria.
- Every entry's facts come from the company's own published terms, checked November 2026.
Retailers and ecommerce businesses hold support tickets and chats, product descriptions and buying guides written in-house, returns reasons and merchandising notes. A support thread records a request, the steps taken and the outcome, which is the structure of an agent trajectory. See our retail and ecommerce data page.
Mercor and Handshake AI name retail among their target industries, Labelbox Prism says it prefers high-volume B2C companies for support logs, and micro1 and Polyshares list support tickets and CRM history. No buyer publishes a retail-specific price range.
Customer data sets the limits. Purchase histories are governed by the privacy notice given at collection, and the CCPA treats handing personal information to another business for value as a sale unless it meets the Act's de-identification standard. Supplier images often belong to the brand. Our support ticket data page shows what buyers check.
- 1
Sell My Data To AI
Best for retailers that need customer data and supplier content screened
Sell My Data To AI values retail support, product and returns records and brokers licenses with vetted AI buyers. Our eight-point seller vetting checks the privacy notice behind customer data and identifies supplier images, brand copy and reviews owned by others. You pay nothing to be assessed, approve every buyer, sample and license term, and agree the success fee in writing before any introduction. We do not take custody of your raw data.
- Fee to seller
- Nothing to be assessed. A success fee only when a deal completes, agreed in writing before any buyer introduction
- Seller vetting
- Eight-point standard, from authority to sign to manifest accuracy, before any buyer sees your data
- Buyer vetting
- Company identity, intended use, security and retention, onward transfer limits and, for larger deals, ability to pay
- Data custody
- No custody of raw data. Buyers see redacted samples under a mutual NDA
- Your control
- You approve every buyer, sample and license term, and can withdraw at any point before signing
- 2
Mercor
Best for retailers on Gmail, Salesforce and support tools
Mercor pays businesses to license workflow data from more than 100 supported tools and names retail and ecommerce among its target industries. It says an automated process masks more than 60 categories of sensitive identifiers and no AI lab buyer sees raw data. Mercor covers extraction, anonymization and transfer costs and typically pays by wire within 2 to 4 weeks of signing.
- Published payout
- Not published on mercor.com/data. ddiy.co reported Mercor's referral page listing $20,000 to $1.5 million by industry (October 2026)
- Size requirement
- Not published on mercor.com/data. Target industries include legal, healthcare, finance and insurance, professional services, manufacturing, retail, real estate and logistics
- Exclusivity
- Not published
- Fee to seller
- None. Mercor covers extraction, anonymization and transfer costs
- Payment timing
- Wire transfer after delivery, typically within 2 to 4 weeks of the signed agreement
- 3
Labelbox Prism
Best for high-volume B2C retailers with support logs
Labelbox Prism acquires operational data for frontier AI developers and says it prefers high-volume B2C companies for support logs, with personal information removed on export. It publishes deals from around $50,000 to more than $1 million, pays an upfront licensing fee at signing plus a revenue share, makes licenses exclusive by default and says first call to first wire takes under 21 days.
- Published payout
- From around $50,000 (smaller targeted datasets) to more than $1 million (large enterprise partnerships)
- Size requirement
- Not published. Prefers high-volume B2C companies for support logs
- Exclusivity
- Exclusive by default, tailored to scope, sensitivity and strategic value
- Fee to seller
- Not published. Scoping is free and non-binding
- Payment timing
- Upfront fee at signing plus revenue share. Prism says first call to first wire takes under 21 days
- 4
micro1
Best for established retailers with support tickets and CRM records
micro1 licenses operational records such as engineering documentation, finance SOPs, support tickets, CRM records and logistics workflows, and supplies them to AI labs and enterprises in the US and allied countries. Its data partnerships page publishes tiers from $100,000 to more than $3 million, asks for 30 or more full-time staff and mainly English records, and says micro1 removes or transforms personal information before sharing data.
- Published payout
- $100,000 to $500,000 (qualified partnerships), $500,000 to $3 million (large-scale or ongoing), more than $3 million (highly unique data). Agent trajectories listed at $1 million to $2 million a year
- Size requirement
- 30 or more full-time staff, mainly English records, US first, then the UK and Canada
- Exclusivity
- Not published
- Fee to seller
- None stated
- Payment timing
- Homepage says within 30 days of acceptance. FAQ says up to 30 days to review, then payment within 30 days of invoice
- 5
Polyshares
Best for owners who want one fixed payment and no fees
Polyshares is a direct buyer that licenses a company's operational record, from Slack and email to CRM history, support tickets and call recordings, and supplies AI labs itself. It sets no headcount minimum, charges no fee or commission, makes an offer within one to two weeks and pays net 30 to 60 days. All four published licenses, from $110,000 to $450,000, are perpetual and exclusive.
- Published payout
- $100,000 to $2 million and above typical. Four published licenses range from $110,000 to $450,000
- Size requirement
- No headcount minimum. Any company with real operating history, in any sector
- Exclusivity
- All four published case studies are perpetual exclusive licenses. Its terms page does not state exclusivity
- Fee to seller
- None. No fee and no commission
- Payment timing
- Offer within one to two weeks. Net 30 to 60 days after data is approved, shared and anonymized
- 6
Handshake AI
Best for retail businesses with documented operations
Handshake AI, the AI arm of the Handshake careers network, buys operational data such as financial models, process documentation, underwriting workflows, design documentation and test reports. Its data partnerships page headlines $100,000 to more than $4 million and sets out a five-step process ending in delivery and payment. Its page text does not state size thresholds, exclusivity, fees or payment timing.
- Published payout
- $100,000 to more than $4 million (headline). Its calculator shows estimates up to $100,000 and $400,000 to $800,000 or more
- Size requirement
- Not published. The calculator asks for employees, tools used and years in business
- Exclusivity
- Not published
- Fee to seller
- Not published
- Payment timing
- Not published. Payment follows delivery as the final process step
- 7
SellMyData
Best for smaller shops with Zendesk and HubSpot exports
SellMyData is a broker that de-identifies company data, such as messages, code, documents, records and tasks from Slack, GitHub, Salesforce, QuickBooks and Zendesk, and sells it to AI labs. It sets no minimum headcount, charges nothing upfront, takes a commission when a sale closes, lets sellers approve every buyer and term, and targets payment within 7 days of a sale closing.
- Published payout
- Not published. Price set by data type, volume, years of history and lab demand, and approved by the seller
- Size requirement
- No minimum headcount
- Exclusivity
- Not published
- Fee to seller
- Nothing upfront. Commission when a sale closes (rate not published)
- Payment timing
- Target of 7 days after a sale closes
How we ranked this list
Sell My Data To AI wrote this list and ranks itself first. We are a broker with a commercial interest in the result, and some companies below offer a service similar to ours. Read the order with that in mind.
For retailers we gave extra weight to buyers that name support tickets, CRM history or B2C support logs in their published brief, and to terms that keep raw customer data out.
| Criterion | What we checked |
|---|---|
| Fit for the data type | Whether the company names this kind of record in its own published brief |
| Published terms | Whether payouts, size requirements and license terms appear on the company's own pages |
| Vetting | What checks the company says it runs on sellers, buyers or datasets before a sample changes hands |
| Exclusivity | Whether licenses are exclusive, non-exclusive or perpetual, and whether that is published |
| Fees | Whether the seller pays a fee or commission, and whether the rate is published |
| Payment timing | When sellers are paid, as stated by the company |
| Transparency | How much of the above you can confirm before a first call |
Every fact about another company comes from our profile of it in the data buyers directory, checked on that company's own pages in November 2026. Where a term is missing we write "Not published" rather than guess. After first place, the order reflects fit for a company selling or licensing its data, not a quality score, and we do not rate any company negatively.
We rank Sell My Data To AI first because this is our list and our service is built for this reader, not because we scored ourselves against the others. We are independent of the buyers we work with, and our terms are on our fees and how we vet pages so you can compare them line by line.
Frequently asked questions
Can an online shop sell customer data to AI companies?
Can we license product descriptions supplied by brands?
Are customer reviews ours to sell to AI companies?
Sources
- UK GDPR Article 8A: purpose limitation, further processing, legislation.gov.uk, accessed November 2026
- Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988, section 11: first ownership of copyright, legislation.gov.uk, accessed November 2026
- Data monetization, Mercor, accessed November 2026
- Sell company data to AI, ddiy.co, accessed November 2026
- Prism, Labelbox, accessed November 2026
- Data partnerships, micro1, accessed November 2026
- Polyshares homepage, Polyshares, accessed November 2026
- Track record, Polyshares, accessed November 2026
- Data licensing terms, Polyshares, accessed November 2026
- Answers, Polyshares, accessed November 2026
- Data partnerships, Handshake, accessed November 2026
- SellMyData homepage and FAQ, SellMyData, accessed November 2026